I am who I am (Poem)


 

My life is a celebration of future dA lonely lightays,
bathed in the light of a darker phase.
For success casts a shadow long and dark,
leaving me blind to what blocks my path.
And so I choose to remember the past,
be humbled by it and rein my heart.
It is because I follow a road not sought,
that I am who I am, a different knot.

Hold your tears, I have often been told,
for failure is naught but another toehold.
Yet I cry every instance I fail,
For my tears clean away the murky trail.
Leaving a road that is clean and free,
to discover the toehold promised to me.
It is because I challenge what I’ve been taught,
that I am who I am, a different knot.

Struggle to survive, and always fight to win,
it’s said, to run without fighting is the greatest sin.
Yet I often run from insurmountable odds,
I’d rather run and be spared the rods.
So that the blood in my veins can be put to use,
instead of being a puddle under another’s shoes.
It is because I refuse what others have bought,
that I am who I am, a different knot.

(This poem is a celebration of individuality. A concept that is often frowned upon in our society. This poem celebrates the desire to be different, the desire to not conform. To be free)

-Aseem Shandilya

Leave a Reply

